Our network

Gwinnett recognizes Teachers of the Year | Schools

Title (Max 100 Characters)

Gwinnett recognizes Teachers of the Year
Gwinnett recognizes Teachers of the Year

GWINNETT COUNTY, Ga. -- Gwinnett County Public Schools has named 131 Teachers of the Year -- one for nearly every school in the district.

The 2015 Teachers of the Year were nominated for the honor by their peers. Later this month, the group will be whittled down to 25 county-level semifinalists.

Six finalists will be chosen in October, and the 2015 Gwinnett County Teacher of the Year will be revealed at a special banquet on Nov. 11.

This year's Teachers of the Year include:

* Alcova: Charlotte Seymour, 5th grade
* Alford: Rebecca Gandy, special education
* Anderson-Livsey: Lauren Blanchard, music
* Annistown: Shayla Clay, 4th grade
* Arcado: Andy Chappell, music
* Beaver Ridge: Joyce McGhee, 4th grade
* Benefield: Suzanne Bross, 1st grade
* Berkeley Lake: Trina Ashadele, special education
* Bethesda: Casandra Lockley, 3rd grade
* Britt: Sara Forrester, 1st grade
* Brookwood: Sharon Smith, gifted language arts
* Burnette: Kelly Nix, 3rd grade
* Camp Creek: Karen Detar, 1st grade
* Cedar Hill: Jennifer Beaty, 3rd grade
* Centerville: Denise Holden, literacy coach
* Chattahoochee: Jenny Ittner, gifted and accelerated content
* Chesney: Lorena Flores, ESOL
* Cooper: Michelle Neef, special education
* Corley: Katherine Ludy, 4th grade
* Craig: Lisa Flagg, 1st grade
* Dacula: Cindy Jeanfreau, kindergarten
* Duncan Creek: Dr. Jackie Ellett, visual arts
* Dyer: Amy Shope, special education
* Ferguson: Lindsey Shannon, math
* Fort Daniel: Jennifer James, 3rd grade
* Freeman's Mill: Henry Spivey, 5th grade
* Grayson: Michelle Jarrett, 2nd grade
* Gwin Oaks: Rebecca McClellan, math
* Harbins: Dr. Kishina Woolfolk, technology specialist
* Harmony: Allison Ward, 3rd grade
* Harris: Leigh Ann Gaskins, 5th grade
* Head: Caroline Ramey, 3rd grade
* Hopkins: Cindy Britt, reading specialist
* Ivy Creek: Angela Dempsey, 1st grade
* Jackson: Emily Carter, reading recovery
* Jenkins: Andrea Dougherty, 3rd grade
* Kanoheda: Diana Sewell, 3rd grade
* Knight: Lisa Petrassi, 2nd grade
* Lawrenceville: Katherine Head, special education
* Level Creek: Amber Arnold, visual arts
* Lilburn: Nancy Nations, 1st grade
* Lovin: Stephanie Stry, 5th grade
* Magill: Shannon Cravens, 5th grade
* Mason: Pam Cohen, 5th grade
* McKendree: Dana Marsal, physical education
* Meadowcreek: Jackie Giera, ESOL
* Minor: Misty Watkins, 3rd grade
* Mountain Park: Jocelyn Fedyk, 4th grade
* Mulberry: Heather Nevius, gifted and accelerated content
* Nesbit: Ebony Jones, 5th grade
* Norcross: Dr. Pamela Cummings, 3rd grade
* Norton: Jennifer Martin, technology coordinator
* Parsons: Becky Melts, 4th grade
* Partee: Nancy Kluge, kindergarten
* Patrick: Heather Silver, visual arts
* Peachtree: Samia Tallmadge, kindergarten
* Pharr: Shanna Brown, kindergarten and reading recovery
* Puckett's Mill: Whitney Deal, kindergarten
* Riverside: Hope Haney, 2nd grade
* Roberts: Nancy Cooper, special education
* Rock Springs: Denise Young, math
* Rockbridge: Laura Markert, 5th grade
* Rosebud: Lori Adami, special education
* Shiloh: Amber MacMillan, 1st grade
* Simonton: Stephanie Flemish, 3rd grade
* Simpson: Amy Boalch, 4th grade
* Starling: Erica Lammey, 2nd grade
* Stripling: Merle Soodyall, music
* Sugar Hill: Karen Whisonant, 1st grade
* Suwanee: Dr. Somer Anderson, 1st grade
* Sycamore: DeAnne Daniel, 3rd grade
* Taylor: Robin Thompson, kindergarten
* Trip: Angela Skinner, 3rd grade
* Walnut Grove: LaVica Edwards, math and science
* White Oak: Stephanie Wallace, 1st grade
* Winn Holt: Matthew Tinnell, music
* Woodward Mill: Jessica Mathis, physical education

* Bay Creek: Corey Simons, social studies
* Berkmar: Tiffany Suggs, science
* Couch: Cindy Apley-Rose, math
* Creekland: Allison Hines, math
* Crews: Laura Diers, math and science
* Dacula: Terri Wiley, band
* Duluth: Kim White, language arts
* Five Forks: Scherrie Hardy, special education
* Grace Snell: Ashlee Todd, special education
* Hull: Margaret Baggett, math
* Jones: Jaclyn Boyce, special education
* Lanier: Lauren Pulley, special education
* Lilburn: Pamela Faulkner Perkins, social studies
* McConnell: Christopher Shaw, special education
* Moore: Shawn Coleman, science
* North Gwinnett: LaToya Brumfield, language arts
* Northbrook: Ryan Wilson, social studies
* Osborne: Mark Moon, social studies
* Pinckneyville: Dr. Bridget Guenthner, math
* Radloff: Marcia Ellington-Lopez, language arts
* Richards: Jennifer Carwile, band and music
* Shiloh: Lesley McClendon, language arts
* Snellville: Ginger Sparks, language arts and social studies
* Summerour: Chekema Hector, science
* Sweetwater: Wesley Diers, social studies
* Trickum: Tiffany Tatum, science
* Twin Rivers: Cindy Cordero, language arts

* Archer: Kristen Brigmond, math
* Berkmar: Patrick Mahaffey, math
* Brookwood: Carrie Settles, AP Environmental Science and Physics
* Central Gwinnett: Johnny Griffin, social studies
* Collins Hill: Micah Porter, chemistry
* Dacula: Sheryl Ackers, language arts
* Duluth: Jerry Hancock, U.S. history
* Grayson: Holly Brodnax, Spanish
* Lanier: Michael Reilly, technology
* Meadowcreek: Joel Sisson, French
* Mill Creek: Gregory Marr, AP Physics
* Mountain View: Dr. Jaime Claymore, Latin
* Norcross: Dan Byrne, IB History
* North Gwinnett: Dr. Colette Grodzicki, language arts
* Parkview: Tara Finco, language arts
* Peachtree Ridge: Nelson Dean, social studies and music
* Phoenix: Harold Singleton, science
* Shiloh: T.J. Miniscalco, history
* South Gwinnett: Jalencia Burchett, math

Buice School: Kelly Schaaf, special education
GIVE Center East: Denton Elkins, social studies
GIVE Center West: Nia Thornton, language arts
Gwinnett Online Campus: Randi Hill, technology coordinator
Gwinnett School of Mathematics, Science and Technology: Kristin Roberts, Spanish
Maxwell HS of Technology: Max Chavez, automotive services
Monarch School: Monique Eason, special education
Oakland Meadow School: Caroline Whitten, literacy coach